The Villages Daily Sun Review

2018 10 21 13 19 202018 10 21 13 19 38

2018 08 30 19 22 48

How you doing today?“Bad,” answers George Thorogood.

Pleased by a the laughter he draws, Thorogood adds that life doesn’t guarantee laughs.

When it comes to bad, however, at least in the context of George Thorogood And The Destroyers, bad is probably guaranteed. 


Courtesy Rick Keene Music Scene

George Thorogood may drink alone but he certainly doesn’t put on a show alone.

On Thursday night, George was in the Province of Quebec for the second time this summer. In July, he received the B.B. King Award as part of the lineup of The Montreal International Jazz Festival. This time– Trois Rivieres en Blues were the hosts and the difference between the two performances was apparent.

George Thorogood and his band; The Destroyers – are fit more for an outdoor venue then the safe confines of Place des Arts. No disrespect to George or the band yet face it, Rock n Roll is dangerous and a stadium / amphitheater breeds danger.

Continue Reading

Courtesy Washington Post

By John Kelly

CRAK7LVABYI6RE7DETIXAPJKPIIt had been a long time since Mike McLaughlin thought about the hot summer night in 1978 when guitarists George Thorogood and the Nighthawks’ Jimmy Thackery crossed a busy Georgetown street and briefly switched places in each other’s bands during a raucous performance of “Madison Blues.”

Then last year Mike was going through some old photos and found himself staring at the past. There he was at the Cellar Door nightclub with Jackie Miles, his future wife, and his DeMatha buddies Mike Morley, Pat Quigley and George Koebke. There was Thorogood, sweatily hunched over a hollow-body Gibson.

“I don’t remember who came up with the idea [to go to the Cellar Door show],” said Mike, of Laurel, Md. “I know we were all big music fans and Thorogood fans.”

The Cellar Door was a legendary spot at 34th and M, across the street from Desperado’s. The two bands — the Nighthawks and Thorogood’s Destroyers — had prearranged the stunt. “The M Street Shuffle” it came to be called. Or “The Duel on M Street.”